1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Questions for helping broody hen hatch some eggs

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by chknmomma, Jan 10, 2011.

1. chknmomma

chknmomma Out Of The Brooder

Jan 10, 2011
    WA
    Hi
    I am new to chickens this year. One of my hens (9 months old) went broody; so I got some fertilized eggs for her to sit. Now I have a few questions!!

I have her setup in our small, enclosed greenhouse. I made a little nest and home for her. She has her own area, nest box, food and water all very close.

1) It has been cold here - 30s during the day. Lows in the 20s. Windy. Does she need heat? I have yet to put heat on them and our weather has gotten into the mid-teens this winter, but it doesn't stay that cold for long.

2) Will she eat on her own? She has yet to get up and poop. She's been in there for 2 days now.

3) I've read about the mites easily getting broody hens. Do I need to treat her with something?

4) Can I let her out? If she gets up, how long can the eggs be without her?

4) Do I need to do anything else for her????

I am new to this BYC, but LOVE the information on here. Thank you so much for your time and help!!

2. LarryPQ

LarryPQ Easter Hatch!!

Jul 17, 2009
    Quote:If she is out of the wind, under cover, and seems to be doing well, you are probably ok without putting heat out there

2) Will she eat on her own? She has yet to get up and poop. She's been in there for 2 days now.

Yup, but since it is cold, you may want to put food & water within reach. Even if you just dump some food in front of her, it will minimize the amount of time she spends off the eggs.

3) I've read about the mites easily getting broody hens. Do I need to treat her with something?