Questions: Move out day!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by shalynnbrothers, Mar 8, 2016.

1. shalynnbrothers

shalynnbrothers Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 31, 2016
    Ramona, CA
    Come this weekend, my goal is to get our 6 standard size (5 and 6 week old) chicks moved out to the coop. We have 5 bantams that will be going into a separate coop shortly after. I'm new to raising chickens and can't help but feel a little worried to officially leave them outside all night. Our temperatures recently decided to drop as well, and we cannot run electricity to the coop for heat. They have quickly out grown their brooder and we have already upgraded the size of the brooder once. At night the temps are usually low 50's could sometimes drop to mid 40's. I guess my question is, are they going to be alright outside in the coop all night without heat? How low of temps can a chick that age handle? We don't have the room to upgrade their brooder again and they're quickly getting sick of each other as they out grow their space.

Our weather is usually quite sunny and beautiful. Of course the passed 2 weeks when we've been trying to finish the coop and get the chicks moved out, it's gotten cold and rainy.[​IMG]

Any advice on the transition from brooder to coop would be greatly appreciated!

2. chicklover 1998

chicklover 1998 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 30, 2015
    Oskaloosa,Ia
    They will be fine at that temp chickens handle cold way better than we do.

1 person likes this.
  3. RodNTN

RodNTN Following Jesus

May 22, 2013
    The USA
    My Coop
    Could you possibly safely hang up a heat lamp for heat?

4. chicklover 1998

Sep 30, 2015
    Oskaloosa,Ia
    they can't run electricity to the coop.

5. shalynnbrothers

Jan 31, 2016
    Ramona, CA
    Really!? Oh my goodness, that is very comforting to hear. Thanks!

6. chicklover 1998

Sep 30, 2015
    Oskaloosa,Ia
    no problem mine went out a 4 weeks into my coop in the 60's so your should be fine

7. aart