Questions!! Newb here!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by WhereTheHensAt, Oct 10, 2011.

1. WhereTheHensAt

WhereTheHensAt Out Of The Brooder

Oct 10, 2011
    Hi,

I have production Red hens that range in age from (3)18-(3)22 1/2 weeks and I haven't gotten any eggs yet.

There are 6 pullets and a 1 cockerel.
    Our coop is 8x8 and 6 feet high, The hens usually only go in if the cockerel goes in first.

One thing though is that my chickens free range from the time i go to work at 6 in the morning until I get home, which is dark by then so they are always back in the coop.
    We have a lot of woods around our house that they hang out in about half the day, The other half they spend wandering the yard looking for treats.

I'm new to all this, I'm wondering if they could be laying in the woods? The area they hang out in isn't very accessible to look for eggs.
    I never see them in the nest box, they usually roost at the ceiling of the coop at night never in a nest box. So my question is should I keep them contained in their run until they start producing? I've never closed them in the run before, It's fairly small in size 14'x12'.

Also should I put something in the nest box? I don't have a golf ball... Maybe a few store bought eggs?

2. cajun Rabbit

cajun Rabbit Out Of The Brooder

Sep 18, 2011
    first off [​IMG]

Second, more experienced folks will be in shortly to help. My question to you is, how long did you keep them in the run before letting them free range? (if they don't know that the roost is 'home' they may not feel the need to lay there) and are they of laying color yet? (comb should be bright red I believe)

3. ChicKat

ChicKat Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Hi and Welcome to the forum..........

What I have heard is that if they freerange, they will decide where to put the eggs. And I have heard that they can be pretty ingenious at hiding them.