1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    Not a member yet? join BYC here & then introduce yourself in our community forum here.

Questions on a rooster...

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by toddntiff, Aug 23, 2008.

1. toddntiff

toddntiff In the Brooder

Aug 10, 2008
    New Mexico
    I will be the first to admit I'm still new to all of this chicken business, but I am learning quick and am admitidly obsessed now!!! I can't have roosters where I live because of the noise ordinance, but I was wondering if anyone else has this ordinance and has successfully kept a rooster? I've also read somewhere about having their voice box removed so they can't crow. Has anyone done this?
    I have Australorps and they are about 3 weeks old now so I don't even know how many roos I have, I would like to keep one if I could make it work...
    Just thought I'd check for ideas!
    Thanks!

2. Quote:I'm pretty sure I'm going to cause a stir with this one...

But in my opinion, removing the voice box of an animal is completely inhumane. I would follow my City Ordinances, or move to an unincorporated area, instead of subjecting an animal to something like that. A surgery like that would definitely take away from the quality of life...

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 23, 2008
  3. rooster-red

rooster-red Here comes the Rooster

Jun 10, 2007
    Douglasville GA
    I would advise against getting a rooster in your situation.

Please don't even consider mutilating a rooster by removing his"voice box".

I think you'll be happier in the long run keeping hens only. [​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 23, 2008
  4. speckledhen

speckledhen Intentional Solitude Premium Member 11 Years

I agree with Poulets and rooster-red.

5. Chickenrox

Chickenrox Hatching

Aug 22, 2008