Questions: What Do I Buy!?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by Chiks N Stiks, Feb 6, 2015.

1. Chiks N Stiks

Chiks N Stiks Out Of The Brooder

Feb 3, 2015
    Out In The Sticks
    Hello!

I am somewhat new to chickens, but not completely green. I need to rebuild my little flock, especially since my it got depleted by predators. I think I have gotten the predator issue addressed now. So moving forward...

I know I am going to buy these breeds as chicks -- Australorps (4 hens for eggs), Wyandottes (4 hens for eggs), Brabanters (2 hens for novelty), Americanas (2 hens for colored eggs). I have had all these before. The kids and I like mixing it up.

Here are the questions: Important to note, I want gentle, family, tame chickens!

1). I was told modern chickens have had most of the brooding instinct bred out of them and to just buy chicks and not try to establish a flock that will propagate itself. Is this true?

2). I have heard silkies are natural brood hens. If the hens lay fertilized eggs, the silkies will hatch them out. Is this true? I was told to add a couple of silkies, because they will raise the new chicks. If this is accurate, I was thinking I would add two hens. So far, the other birds have proven not great at sitting on the nest long enough to raise chicks. Yes, I had roosters at the time. I had partially baked baby chickies. YUK. The hens would abandon the nest too early.

3). Australorp rooster? Wyandotte rooster? One of each?

4). Are mixed breed chickens a problem?

The girls are pets. I will probably always buy chicks, but raising my own would be fun too.

Meat Chickens -- I've never done this before!

The kids, boys, want meat chickens. They want to do the butchering and cleaning -- or so they think. I was thinking about starting out with maybe 4 or 5 chicks to raise up and see how it goes.

1). Which makes for better mean, hen or rooster? No difference?

2). What is a good meat breed that is gentle?