Quick Bunny Questions

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by FrizzleFreak, Mar 28, 2009.

1. FrizzleFreak

FrizzleFreak Chillin' With My Peeps

My English/Satin Angora is eight weeks old(almost). At this point, I should be feeding him as much as he'll eat, right? He's growing so fast, but he does have a little bit of a pot belly...
    Also, he likes chewing on my clothes. Is that normal?
    <I'll share pics later, haven't gotten them off the camera yet>

2. paddock36

paddock36 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 24, 2008
    Ocala, Florida
    Rabbits will chew and actually need to. It helps thier teeth. Do you give him wood to chew? As far as food. I have never really limited their food and have never had a problem with them getting too fat. I feed the regular rabbit pellets, but I'm no expert.

Last edited: Mar 28, 2009
  3. FrizzleFreak

Well, he spends a fair amount of time chewing on his hutch [​IMG] don't worry, non toxic. None of the rabbits in his family have shown a need to chew, but I'll see about it. I was kinda worried it was because he didn't like me. [​IMG]

4. Widget

Widget Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 30, 2008
    Limington, Maine
    With our NZ Whites we feed ad lib until they are around 9 weeks old. Then they are given about 1/4 lb of food a day. Most do great with this way of feeding. Or you can try giving x amount of food a day. If the rabbit eats all of it then the next day give a bit more until there is always a bit left over the next day. Depends on the rabbit though. Some seem to gain weight just breathing in the air:).

5. FrizzleFreak

My friends did say to keep the food full so that you can tell if they've been eating, or if they've got wool block. What is the importance of pot belly in young rabbits?It was in the 4-H terminology, but it didn't explain the significance?

6. Missouri Maiden

Missouri Maiden Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 4, 2009
    Southwest Missouri