Quick Help Please

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Uncle Marc, Apr 12, 2012.

1. Uncle Marc

Uncle Marc Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 12, 2011
    Poplar Grove Kentucky
    Got 19 one day old chicks Monday. All was going very well until I just got home from work a minute ago. The temp right under the heat lamp was 95 when I left for work and nobody was home all day so it apparently climbed to 120, but there is plenty of room in the brooder for the chicks to have gotten away from it.

All seemed to be sleeping, but I woke them to make sure they were okay. All got up and moved around, eating, drinking acting normally except for one.

It is off by itself, seems to be unable to stand. When it tries to get up its wings flair it flaps a bit, rolls over and lays down breathing hard.

Any ideas?

Last edited: Apr 12, 2012
  2. RonC

RonC Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 28, 2012
    D/FW
    I am no expert, haven't had any problems so far (fingers crossed). Sounds like getting her to drink water might help, use a dropper if necessary. There is a product called Sav-a-chick, it's basically electrolytes might give her some energy and fluids. I think you can also give infant electrolytes to her since it's late enough you probably can't get the sav-a-chick tonight. Also have heard some honey mixed in water might give her some energy.

3. juliezoo

juliezoo Out Of The Brooder

Apr 6, 2012
    NKY