quick question -- counting days -- nervous first-timer

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by farmergal, Dec 21, 2008.

1. farmergal

farmergal Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 21, 2008
    Nor Cal
    I've tried a few different search terms but I'm having a hard time finding an answer on old threads.

If you set eggs at night, the following morning is day 1, right?
    If you set eggs in the morning, is that day 1?

I have eggs due on Christmas and the day after Christmas (I *think*) and just wanted to make sure I have everything straight so I don't stop turning them too early or too late.

I'm getting so nervous as the date arrives! please send good hatching energy and prayers for the little ones over to California! this is my first time, and I'm trying the dry incubation method, so I'm really hoping I don't mess anything up. [​IMG]

thanks,
    Lynda

2. dbcooper02

dbcooper02 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 20, 2007
    SW Washington
    I never "count" the days. I figure if I set chicken eggs on a Monday they are due on the third Monday following. If I set them on a Monday morning I stop turning them the Friday morning before they are due. If I set them Monday evening then I stop turning Friday evening.
    Hoping you do well with your hatch.
    db

3. magikchick

magikchick ~FEATHERFOOTED DIVA~

Apr 21, 2007
    SW Florida
    I set mine at night and count the next day as day one.

4. Rufflemyfeathers

Rufflemyfeathers Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 20, 2008
    Astatula Florida
    I usually have set what have done at night and counted the next night same time I set as my first day and so forth..I have 8 Road Island White due Christmas Eve and 2 Royal Palm Turkeys due New Years Eve. Rest of mine are out in coop growing like weeds..