Quick Reponse Requested - Chick May be Stuck in Egg?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by kprhok, Sep 21, 2009.

1. kprhok

kprhok Out Of The Brooder

Feb 18, 2009
    After what seemed to be four weeks of waiting, I decided to remove the eggs from a hen's nest to avoid having to deal with crushed rotten eggs (this has happened before).

I discovered, however, that in one egg a chick is alive and chirping!

I don't know if it's stuck, whether the mom will try to help it peck its way out, whether I should intervene at all. I can't believe this is a live egg.. I had given them many days beyond delivery date to hatch and had just given up hope. There is no sign of life in the remaining two eggs, no movement chirping etc.

Again, should I do anything or just watch and wait? Does it hurt to crack open the shell if the chick is inside chirping away?

I am relatively new at the whole thing.

Last edited: Sep 21, 2009
  2. chickenlittle32

chickenlittle32 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 19, 2009
    Rayne Louisiana
    I'd put it back under the hen. The chick hatched itself but needs the heat and humidity so that it doesn't dry out inside the egg. Some just end up taking a little longer than others to develop.

3. kprhok

Feb 18, 2009
    Its under the hen now. Seems that if it's chirping, it would be ready to come out and needs air, etc..

Can they chirp and still not be ready for couple of days?

4. chickenlittle32

Apr 19, 2009
    Rayne Louisiana
    Could be anywhere from a few hours or even a day or 2 LOL this is the longest waiting period (seems that way for me anyway) is waiting on them to hatch..

5. kprhok

Feb 18, 2009
    Thanks very much!!! for your quick response. I feel better now.

6. GaNewChick

GaNewChick Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2009
    McDonough, Ga.
    Yep ~ he/she is just making it's announcement ... "I'm on my way."

Good luck! [​IMG]

7. chickenlittle32

Apr 19, 2009
    Rayne Louisiana