Quiet, sweet tempered chicken breeds

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by morgannn, May 7, 2016.

1. morgannn

morgannn Out Of The Brooder

May 7, 2016
    Hi guys, I'm new to BYC and I'm looking to get a few chickens. I need a breed that is super quiet so that they will not bother my neighbors because we have a small yard. They also need to be kid-friendly. I would love to have a chicken that I can pet and pick up. I know a lot of that depends on their handling as chicks, but I really want a docile breed. Also, I would like good egg production[​IMG] Thanks!!!

2. Egghead_Jr

Egghead_Jr Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2010
    NEK, VT
    Wyandotte are said to be noisy. Rhode Island Red are human friendly but not what I'd call docile. Plymouth Rock or Orpington are a common, easy to obtain, breed that's docile and not very vocal. There are so many breeds out there it's hard to narrow down but I think sticking with what is usually found right at your feed store chick bins you wont go wrong with Orp or Plymouth. All birds have an egg song, all Plymouth I've had are not so loud on their own. With cock birds they will join in the chorus and really increase the volume of egg songs. You'll not experience that with all pullet flock as a crowing bird certainly doesn't meet your criteria.

3. sunflour

sunflour Flock Master Premium Member Project Manager

Jan 10, 2013
    Macon,GA
    [​IMG] glad you have joined us.

I have experience only with BO's and BR's - they are overall quiet ladies with soft sweet voices. But the egg laying songs can turn into a hilarious choir that I personally love to hear. Among every breed each individual can have unique personality - one of my BO's is quite loud when she wants my attention :)

But overall a small flock of hens is definitely quieter and less disturbance to neighbors than barking dogs.