1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Quietest Duck Breeds?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by new2chickens2011, Dec 31, 2011.

1. new2chickens2011

new2chickens2011 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 11, 2011
    Hi, I'm new to ducks..wanting to get a few. What are the quietest breeds? I live in the city and don"t want tooooo much noise. I have a few chickens, and they aren't too loud. Are ducks louder than chickens?
    Thanks!

2. kikidee

kikidee Chillin' With My Peeps

May 30, 2011
    San Clemente
    I have two Cayuga drakes. They don't "quack" unless you approach them and them stop shortly after. I also heard that the Muscovies are very quiet but they fly

3. Ducks and Banny hens

Ducks and Banny hens Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 22, 2011
    On a little Farm.
    Quote:If I might interject something here; Drakes don't quack very loudly compared to the hens. Have you had any hens? I've heard that they are rather silent. I had a cayuga ducklet that I had to hand raise, but she died before puberty so I actually don't know for myself how silent she was. Rouens I know are very silent. Breeds that aren't silent:
    -Orpingtons
    -Pekins
    -Bessemers
    -Swedes
    -Campbells
    -Calls (of course)

4. La Mike

La Mike (Always Slightly Off)

Nov 20, 2009
    louisiana
    Muscovy dont quack at all.

5. Ducks and Banny hens

Ducks and Banny hens Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 22, 2011
    On a little Farm.