"QuileutePJerrie" [Quileute Prairie Jerrie], a new BYC member,saying 'HEY' my first day!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by QuileutePJerrie, May 5, 2017.

1. [​IMG]
    Hello to all BYC Members!
    [To clarify: I "co-own and care for the chickens, turkeys, and we will be getting goats", but I DO NOT 'own' any property 'out here'. I volunteer, with the Llamas and I am the Llama Trainer; I work with the cabins; ... I am a friend. This is a 'family trust': the land is. I am not a member of the family.
    QP Jerrie]

My name is Jerrie, QPJerrie and I found you folks online today, doing a quick 'google' search on "how soon can I put my new chicks outside". I read a few things, found a forum on the subject, and decided to join-up!!!
    I am so pleased to find you. I am new to chicken raising as of last spring, 2016. I was visiting a cousin in a neighboring town and gathering eggs for her. She has a 5 acre farm, with chickens, ducks, and geese of many varieties. She does not want any more chicks, yet I discovered a little hen who had successfully sat on 14 of her eggs, and had 14 brand new chicks! Cousin didn't want them. I did! I took them home to the Farm where I volunteer and co-own and now raise chickens and turkeys. Those 14 chicks went into the deep and high claw footed tub, with a heat lamp, litter, feed and water. They are doing great!