Rabbit Hutch Coop

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Sswanso5, Dec 1, 2019.

1. Sswanso5

Sswanso5 Hatching

Dec 1, 2019
    Hello all!
    I’m brand new to chickens and I am getting my first flock this spring. I was thinking of converting an old rabbit hutch into a new chicken coop. However I am trying to think what would be the best configuration. I would definitely make it all enclosed for warmth in the winter. However I am debating whether make the roosting part on top or the nesting boxes up top. I already have a system devised for a cleaning, using a false floor with a slanted metal piece underneath to a small door in the back. I can add onto the rabbit hutch however I am trying to be a frugal.

2. BallyFarm

BallyFarm Chirping

Nov 28, 2019
    PA
    Is it possible to show a pic? How many chickens do you plan on getting? Sometimes rabbit hutches can be too small for more then four chickens, and are you going to allow them a chicken run? Or will they be cooped up all day? Pun intended!

3. I think any rabbit hutch will likely be to small for permanent chicken housing.

Last edited: Dec 1, 2019
  4. Hi, and welcome to BYC!
    if you could post a picture of this rabbit hutch you speek of, that would be more helpful to us.
    when i think of a rabbit hutch i am envisioning something way to small to be a permanent situation for 4 chickens.
    since your birds are not expected until spring, we have plenty of time to figure out the coop.
    thanks for joining us!

5. Folly's place

Folly's place Crossing the Road

Sep 13, 2011
    southern Michigan
    Welcome!
    If you add your approximate location on your profile, it helps a lot here. What's best for Florida or Arizona will be not so good for Montana!
    Pictures of your existing hutch, with dimensions, will help too.