Rabbit people help!

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by TubbyChicken, Dec 9, 2008.

1. TubbyChicken

TubbyChicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 30, 2008
    Kentucky
    I just brought home my first rabbit last night. He's a 4 yr old, neuatered, Netherland Dwarf. He was extremely sweet when we first met, he was the calmest rabbit I've ever seen. He even rode home in my lap for 3 hours and made contented rabbit purrs while I petted him.

I have limited experience with rabbits so a lot of this very new to me. I've read a book that explains some, but I have a few questions if those with rabbit experience wouldn't mind answering.

I moved him for the time being, into a quiet part of the house where he can slowly start to feel a bit more secure with his surroundings. I was given, along with him lots of toys, treats, litter and food. However I've read that rabbits need constant access to hay and I don't think his former owner mentioned it at all...I assume TSC would have some, do I need to get some ASAP?

He's also acting considerably different than he was last night. He even boxed my hand when I opened his cage to refill his feeder. I assume this is because he is feeling insecure and needing to adjust to his new surroundings. How should I handle him or react to him over the next few days to help him adjust?

Thanks!

2. EllyMae

EllyMae Chillin' With My Peeps

It sounds like he's a little nervous, which is to be expected. Just give him time to settle in. Yes, you need to give hay. A good quality horse hay is what I feed mine since I have horses. TSC does sell small bags of hay for rabbits which will be fine too. Timothy hay is great for adults.

3. spookyevilone

spookyevilone Crazy Quail Lady

Oct 5, 2008
    Minneapolis
    Hiya.
    As long as you're feeding him pellet food, you're giving him constant access to hay. Most rabbit pellets are made with timothy hay.