Rabbits and Chickens

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by steinway, Oct 31, 2011.

1. steinway

steinway Out Of The Brooder

Oct 27, 2011
    Newbie here, I have not seen this subject covered in any other posts, hope I am not repeating something. I have two horse stalls that take up all of a small outbuilding, each stall is about 10' x 12', vented at the top with a couple of windows. I have started raising rabbits in one of the horse stalls, only 4 breeders right now and do not plan on getting many more. I plan on getting just a few (4 or so) egg laying hens for the other horse stall in the spring.

The two stalls are separated by wood up to 4 feet and then sturdy wire above that. I am guessing I will need to put chicken wire around the sturdy wire to prevent the chickens coming over to the rabbit side.

Any thoughts? Is this a good idea or a bad idea? Are there any health concerns you would have with this set up? Any other ideas? Thank you in advance.

2. chickencrazylady

chickencrazylady Out Of The Brooder

Jul 29, 2011
    I have 3 Roo's and 8 hens and 1 rabbit all living in an run and indoor coop. My rabbit, bugsey was very happy to be able to run around the chicken run and then jumped into the coop and made himself at home. So far and it's been 3 months now no problems, except that my 2 younger roo's that have grown up with Bugsey are a little jealous of all the veggie scapes he gets and they try to steal then from him. One big happy family, I am of the opinion that Bugsey will start to cluck any day now! Lol He really doesn't know he's a rabbit anymore.He has is sleep area in the coop and his toilet area, that I clean out weekly and place in more shavings. Bugsey even eats the chicken feed now instead of his pellets, so I make sure that everyone in the coop get lots of fresh veggies and fruit everyday.

3. Marcymom3

Marcymom3 Chillin' With My Peeps