Raccoon killed (and ate) my peahen last night

Discussion in 'Peafowl' started by nevsma, Jul 27, 2011.

1. nevsma

nevsma Out Of The Brooder

Jul 19, 2011
    Dodgeville, WI
    Hey everyone, this is actually my first post, I just wish it was better news. It starts with really good news, but then gets bad. Yesterday I got home from work and I noticed one of my peahens up and around with a brand new little loud pied chick under her. I quickly checked the nest and noticed other eggs starting to pip, and thankfully the hen (Lucy) went back to the nest and continued to sit on the eggs. Well, to make a long story short, I have been battling raccoons for several years. The coons had always been finding weak spots between the netting and the fencing and slide in, or they would chew through the top netting. When they would get in, they would gorge themselves on the birds food, and eat any eggs laid during the previous evening. With modifications to the pen, I thought I had the problem fixed, the hens relaxed, laid eggs, sat, and hatched, everything was good. Well, this morning the birds were honking up a storm so I went out to check. I noticed egg fragments all over the pen, and no mother or chick. I ended up finding Lucy in a far corner of the shelter completely eaten. The chick was missing as well. I noticed a hole that the raccoon(s) came though. They were able to pull the stapled netting away from the wood to squeeze through. Tonight I will be nailing another 2x4 to create a "sandwich" of 2x4's and the netting. I have been setting a trap and catching a coon every single night. They are really overpopulated over here. This is really frustrating, and now I am worried about the other adults in the pen. Before, if the coons got in, the would only eat the food, or eggs, they never bothered the adults. Now, I am afraid that they learned that the adults can be a viable target as well. Any suggestions?

2. jcatblum

jcatblum Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 27, 2010
    Cement, OK