1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Rafter insulation inside coop

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by BBB Becky, Dec 13, 2016.

1. BBB Becky

BBB Becky Out Of The Brooder

Nov 15, 2016
    Georgetown, MA
    Can I place some small beams in the rafters and layer it with straw for insulation? We do have one vent. This is my first year with chickens. I have six golden comets, six months old. We are in MA and are expecting -10 temperatures this Friday. Please respond with your comments.

2. lazy gardener

lazy gardener Chicken Obsessed

Nov 7, 2012
    CENTRAL MAINE
    What is your roof made of? If it is metal, that may be an issue. The biggest issue I see with using straw is that the condensation that will occur there will seep into the straw, creating moisture and mold issues. If you have a wood roof, you should be ok. The birds do need ventilation inside the coop, even when it's below 0*F. How big is your coop, and how close is the back of the perch to the wall and how much space between the perch and the ceiling? If the perch lacks space in these areas, the birds may have frost bite issues due to moisture accumulation from their respiration.

3. BBB Becky

Nov 15, 2016
    Georgetown, MA
    The coop is made of wood, wooden roof with shingles. The hens perch about 2 1/2 ft. from the ceiling and 1 ft. from the wall. Can I use foam insulation. Just up in the rafters where the hens cannot get at it.
    The coop has one large vent. The coop size is 3ft by 4ft. I have six hens and three nesting boxes. It is a raised coop.

4. junebuggena

junebuggena Overrun With Chickens

Apr 17, 2015
    Long Beach, WA