RAIN & Chickens: beginners build a coop & need your help

humboldtpeeps

In the Brooder
8 Years
Mar 6, 2011
First time chicken owners here from coastal northern California and we need your help
frow.gif

we are going to get started this weekend - we have five chicks in the brooder with no home yet, just a very wet backyard.

Our plan is to build a 5x10 all in one coop/run that will be 6 foot tall and the entire coop/run will have a gabled roof. The coop itself will be 3X5 and raised 3 feet off the ground, the run and windows will be all wrapped in 1/2" hardware cloth.
We have gotten lots of great ideas from BYC that we plan to implement-
we have read a lot of posts but still find ourselves with questions as we start to really plan it out- (i'm sorry if these are redundant- im new to this
hu.gif
)
some questions~
Is it okay to to use pressure treated wood to frame in the floor pan? or would it be better to use cedar?
we get lots of rain here in Humboldt county- we are wondering what people do in areas like the PNW or coastal regions where rain is a big issue? what do you love about your coop- what works/what didn't/what would you do differently? How did you design your nest boxes so they don't leak..
Did you use straw/sand/bark/dirt in your run? rain catchment systems? Gravel or pavers or anything around the perimeter for drainage?
if you would like to post photos of your coops that would be awesome!
Thanks!!
Lana

Quick reply only about the cedar: never! It's pretty much poison to poultry.

Nest boxes: sometimes they get leaked onto, or pooped in. Just make preparations to clean regularly. I use small cat carriers for nest boxes, which my girls love. Lots of space when more than one wants to lay at the same time. And that often happens.