Raised a single chick, now what?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Kendall R 06, Nov 21, 2012.

1. Kendall R 06

Kendall R 06 New Egg

Nov 21, 2012
    Hi all,

I have been reading threads on this site for quite a while, but this is my first time posting! I just wanted to get some advice :D

I am a vet nurse and I also volunteer at a local animal park/farm. I have a tendency to bring home injured/abandoned chicks from the animal park. The first chick I brought home was roughly a week old and was found by himself in the feed shed, it gets quite cold there at night (was winter at the time) and they didn't have the facilities to keep him warm enough, so I volunteered as I have 8 hens at home and figured I could raise him until he was big enough to integrate with the hens. I named him Klaus, I raised him in my living room and he was absolutely amazing and I became very attached. There was never an issue of him being a single chicken as I was always with him and he'd follow me around the house and hang out in my jumper pocket. Unfortunately at around 8 weeks old he developed a limp, we took X-rays and it ended up being a dislocated hip, he was out in confinement and given daily medication for pain and inflammation. Roughly two weeks later, there were no signs of improvement and he had to be euthanaised. I was absolutely devastated.