1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Raised coops?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by City2Farm, Feb 28, 2008.

1. City2Farm

City2Farm New Egg

Feb 28, 2008
    St. Paul, MN
    Hi all! Newbie here! I have ZERO chicken-coop-building experience... or building-anything-other-than-a-sandwich experience for that matter [​IMG]

Anyhoo, I noticed that the floor of many coops, when viewed from the outside, are raised above the ground. Why is this? Is it just a convenience thing of not having to level/pack the ground or am I missing something important?

Thanks [​IMG]

Edited to fix subject... sorry 'bout that

Last edited: Feb 28, 2008
  2. patandchickens

patandchickens Flock Mistress

Apr 20, 2007
    Ontario, Canada
    A raised floor (and raised high enough that vermin will not try to set up housekeeping underneath) is guaranteed insurance against mud and flood; and it can't easily be dug into by predators, as a dirt floor could.

You wouldn't want to put a wooden floor right against the ground anyhow as it would rather immediately start to rot out. The other alternative, concrete, is quite expensive to install.

Does that sort of answer your question? [​IMG]

Pat

3. City2Farm

City2Farm New Egg

Feb 28, 2008
    St. Paul, MN
    Ohhhhh! That makes sense, I kind of figured I was missing something.

Thanks a million Pat!

4. Churkenduse

Churkenduse Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 1, 2008
    I raised mine for two reasons, one so I do not have to bend down so much and