Raising and Selling?

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by jessica0028, Apr 25, 2017.

1. jessica0028

jessica0028 Just Hatched

Apr 24, 2017
    Era TX
    So I'm new to the Meat Bird scene, and I'm not entirely sure how the whole process works. I mean, I know how to raise them and process them, but does anybody know the whole process to be able to raise and sell processed chickens legally in Texas?

On a separate note - I have 2 other people asking if they can pay me to raise and process chicks for them with my flock of 20? How much would you charge for something like that?? or would it be more beneficial to me to just sell them processed birds at the end?

2. Egghead_Jr

Egghead_Jr Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2010
    NEK, VT
    Call Texas agricultural department for requirements specific to your state. May be a threshold of birds you can process without getting inspected, where and how your legally able to sell them, etc. It's all very state specific and instead of hearing it second hand call them or do a google search to read any online documentation on your states ag. website.