Raising baby chicks out in the cold

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Lil'ChickFarm, Oct 30, 2011.

1. Lil'ChickFarm

Lil'ChickFarm Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 27, 2011
    My Silver laced wyandot female bantam went broody and she was laying on her own eggs and pingpong balls that I had put in the nest box to give them the idea of what to do in a nest box. She had only been laying eggs for a few weeks, but I kept taking her eggs and she would sit on another one. So I went to a farm and got her three full sized eggs to lay on that are fertile. They will be mixed RIR and I forgot what else, but they will be bigger chicks.
    Of course I want them to make it out there, but it got cold in the mean time and now even freezing at night.
    THe nest boxes are up about two feet off the ground, and since I am very new to all this, I am wondering how those chicks are going to get down to eat?
    The entire nest box area is about 3 x 3 and entirely insulated, even the top. It attaches to the coop, but I am sure it is warmer in there. All my silkies and other bantams sleep in there at night.
    I have 18 total hens. Only about three of them stay out in the coop which is 4 x 8 and has a long roost. The front of the coop is a huge window that is cage wire, so it is not kept warm in the coop.
    Now I need some experienced farmers to tell me how this goes? Will I need to remove the chicks and raise then inside? OR will mommy keep them warm and feed them? Surely they can't eat and drink like the rest of my hens who have a hanging food dish and water bottles that are over a foot off the ground. However if I put in the baby feeders, I wonder if the rest of the hens will just eat all the feed?
    Maybe then everyone will have to go back on baby feed for a while?
    I probably should have asked these questions before I got her the eggs, but it was warm then, lol. They are probably due to hatch in about a week.