Raising Chickens During College

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by grandparooster, Jul 6, 2010.

1. grandparooster

grandparooster Out Of The Brooder

Jun 15, 2010
    Montague, Michigan
    Hi, I am the proud parent of 56 chickens from a week old to 10 weeks old and i was wondering if anyone has raised or know if there is a way to raise chickens during college. I live about an hour away from all the major colleges in my state and i would not be able to run back and forth every day to take care of the chickens. Any advice would be great!

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 7, 2010
  2. greenfamilyfarms

greenfamilyfarms Big Pippin'

Feb 27, 2008
    Elizabethtown, NC
    As a college student myself, I live off-campus... an hour away from campus. Most colleges/dorms have strict policies on what kinds of pets and animals are allowed. Check with the college to be sure, but chickens are most likely not allowed.

3. americancowboy

americancowboy Out Of The Brooder

Jun 7, 2010
    georgia
    I am going to college this fall with a few of my chickens. I found someone that is walking distance from the college that is going to let me raise my chickens in her backyard. She already has 4 chickens and a coop but she said I could raise my girls there as long as i provide feed and water and also give her a few eggs every once in a while.

4. Willow's Meadow

Willow's Meadow Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 16, 2010
    Quote:hmmmmm 56 chicks in 1 dorm(THAT should be interesting [​IMG]) Maybe they could build a coop in the dorm [​IMG]

5. Doodles21

Doodles21 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 7, 2010