Raising chicks and handwashing

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by laurelmtnlover, Jun 1, 2010.

1. laurelmtnlover

laurelmtnlover Out Of The Brooder

May 22, 2010
    Greetings to all you friendly chicken luvvers! We just got our first 25 Delawares.....of course got a few more than what we had planned on, but everything is working out well. They are about 3 weeks old, are going outside in the day, no heat lamp in the rehabbed shed=coop now, insulated, and have their separated area about 3 ft by 6 ft. They are doing really well! We don't have running water there and have to "visit them" at this time. They are in a pretty (I hope) predator proof ventilated coop. $0 to rehab. Any way, we have a bucket of water for handwashing afterward. I'm a nurse and I'm really paranoid about it, but how far do you all go? My friend and I have both suffered some gastric upsets in the last week. (holiday picnic food or chicks?) I know the old time farmers probably werent as concientious about handwashing as I am, but I'm afraid to answer my cell while working with them, etc. Am I going to far?

How about children? How do all you moms and dads "handle" this issue?

2. KellyHM

KellyHM Overrun With Chickens

Sep 10, 2008
    Lakeland, FL
    I think you're a little too worried (unless you're immune compromised). I wash my hands when I come in from doing my chores, but I don't hesitate to answer the phone or run in the house to get something in the middle of handling them. Really the only thing you have to worry about at all is coccidia and that's mostly only if you're immune compromised. Plus it's everywhere in the environment, so you really can't avoid it completely.

3. TurkeyMountainChickens

TurkeyMountainChickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 3, 2009
    Central Virginia
    First, [​IMG]

And yes - I think you're being a bit paranoid. I know you're a nurse - but I'm a microbiologist!