Raising Chicks... Do they need vaccine?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by mulia24, Jul 19, 2010.

1. mulia24

mulia24 Chillin' With My Peeps

hi everyone, [​IMG]

I'm will try to incubate chicken eggs again, last time I raise chicks I've hatched using incubator, they all died because of unknown(to me) disease, even the other chicken that hatched naturally also died. [​IMG]

When I contact my friend, who is the egg seller (he owns a chicken hatchery) he said that all chicks must be vaccinated in order to keep them away from disease, I told him, I've been raising chicken for more than 10 years and I never give any vaccine to all my chicken. He said that's the must to give vaccine. Unfortunately, vaccine is quite tricky, each bottle can be used up to a hundred chicks and must be used in one and half hours before the vaccine become damaged no matter what you do. While I only need vaccine for about a dozen chicks [​IMG] It seems that vaccinating chicks won't be able to be done by me. [​IMG]

so, the question is, should I vaccine the chicks (haven't even put the eggs into bator) ?

how to keep them healthy and strong against disease without vaccinating them?

I realize that the circumstance in US/Europe will be different than my homeland here though [​IMG]

thank you in advance.

2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner True BYC Addict

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    I'm sorry but I cannot answer you question. What disease did your chicks die from? What were the symptoms? At what age? What disease is the vaccination for? There are several different possibilities and until you know what you are dealing with, it is very difficult to recommend a course of action. Vaccination, medication, or something else entirely may be called for.

I know it is frustrating. I wish you good luck!

3. cubalaya

cubalaya Overrun With Chickens

Nov 19, 2008
    central virginia
    did you feed the medicated chick starter? what disease did they have?

4. mulia24

[​IMG]