Raising Chicks in the Coop?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Weasleymum, Aug 8, 2008.

1. Weasleymum

Weasleymum Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 1, 2008
    Virginia
    Heya, total newbie here with a question. I'm planning on having about 3 birds and am going to build a small, portable coop+pen-- a tractor basically but with the two parts separate for easier moving. The "house" part will be 3'x4' and about 2.5-3.5' tall inside, and as secure as I can make it: plywood, 2x4s and hardware cloth.

If I can get a warming lamp into the coop, is there any reason why I can't put baby chicks right into their house instead of keeping them inside in a brooder for so many weeks and then moving them? Or is there anything I would need to do to temporarily convert the coop to a brooder?

Between my cat and dog, there are more predators *inside* my house than outside!

Last edited: Aug 8, 2008
  2. arlee453

arlee453 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 13, 2007
    near Charlotte NC
    As long as the enclosure is very secure (ie holes too small for them to escape through) and they have adequate heat, then I see no reason to not raise them outside.

The only potential issue would be drafts, but if it is nice and warm outside anyway, I would think draft concerns would be minimal, especially if they have some solid walled area where they could get away from drafts.

3. pdsavage

pdsavage Sussex Monarch

Mar 27, 2008
    NW,Missouri
    I had my chicks in the coop in an old kiddie pool with a heat light.
    In fact i have some now out in the coop now in a kiddie pool with a heat light.Not the same coop as the other chicks.
    But they cant get out of the pool nor can they get outside.

4. ChickenToes

ChickenToes Chillin' With My Peeps

May 14, 2008
    NE Wisconsin
    We are raising our ducklings in the coop. Everyone told me they were extremely messy and required a daily brooder cleaning, so I decided to put them right into the coop.