Raising chicks of different breeds together

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by cbascom, Jan 13, 2014.

1. cbascom

cbascom Out Of The Brooder

Mar 4, 2012
    Phelan, Calif.
    I ordered some chicks that will be here in 3 weeks and so i am setting up an area for their brooder. IT's my first time with chicks, so it's all a learning experience.
    I will be getting 5 Cornish X; 15 assorted heavy breed cockerels; and 7 easter egger pullets. The hatchery is going to mark the pullets with marker so I will know which ones they are.
    It will be between 20-35 degrees during the night and 45-65 during the day when they arrive. They will be in a shed with a 250 watt infrared heat lamp. The shed is dual purpose, so the chicks will be contained I think by a cardboard "draft shield" at first, then by whatever seems necessary as they grow.
    Question: (you knew this ramble must be going somewhere). Can they all live together until they are ready to go outside, or should I separate the girls? I am worried about bullying, cannibalism, and unknowingly butchering my pullets! I'm not sure at what point i will be able to tell breeds and sexes. Although the assorted heavies are supposed to be male, it seems possible there could accidentally be a female.
    Sorry for the ramble, thank you in advance!

2. NinjaRooster

NinjaRooster Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 27, 2013
    The Corner
    Unless I'm missing something in reading your question (my apologies if I am [​IMG]), then you shouldn't have any problems putting them together. At least not for a while anyway.

I'm assuming you will be butchering the Heavy Breed Cockerels, right? (or at least most of them).

3. cbascom

Mar 4, 2012
    Phelan, Calif.