Raising chicks outdoors - Best Decision Ever

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by chickenchichi, Jun 14, 2016.

1. chickenchichi

chickenchichi Out Of The Brooder

May 15, 2016
    McDonough, GA
    I'll preface this by saying this is only my third time being a chick parent, so I am by no means an expert. This is just my own personal experience with raising chicks outdoors. I also live in a very warm, humid climate, which makes outdoor brooding much easier. If you want to try raising your chicks outside, be sure to do your research beforehand and consider things like soil testing and climate! I'm sharing this because there are some people who, like me, didn't know that keeping young chicks off a lamp is even possible.

In early April, I bought 4 chicks for my birthday, and raised them for about a month and a half in a rubbermade brooder in my apartment. The smell was difficult to handle, but eventually I came back to our family home for the summer. By this time my birds, 2 black/copper Marans, a blue Maran, and a Red Sex Link, were a month and a half old and quickly feathering out. They wanted out of their brooder! I began to let them roam around the yard in the mornings and it was amazing how happy they instantly became. I tried to go out and sit and watch them as much as possible, also beginning to build their coop. Unfortunately, all 3 of the Marans turned out to be cockerels, so we ended up selling all 4 chicks at a local farmer's market.