Raising Hens in the City - Help Please

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by 4theloveofhens, May 26, 2010.

1. 4theloveofhens

4theloveofhens Chillin' With My Peeps

May 26, 2010
    I am a college student in Fort Collins, CO looking to have some hens. I have been raised around chickens (just a few every so often) so I do know some things about them. I checked with the city municipal codes and found we can have as many as six hens in residential areas. So, I ordered 4 chicks: Cochin, Rhode Island Red, and two other popular laying breeds that the guy said he'd order for me. The chics are finally supposed to be here this week, and I was planning on having them inside my apartment until they can be moved out to there coop. But, being a newbie at raising chickens in a residential area and having to BUILD a coop instead of them just roaming with the goats in a pen like they did at my parents house, I have a few questions if anyone could please answer.

How soon can chicks be moved outside into a coop if it has a lamp?

I am worried about the coop building. My boyfriend and I thought we had the coop all planned out but reading this forum, I see so many extravagant coops that I simply cannot afford (or will have space for). I will be living in a condo/townhome/duplex that will have a fenced in yard so the chickens can "roam" when I am home during the day to supervise (we have raccoons, fox, and lots of stray cats in the neighborhood). I was planning on building an A frame chicken coop that would be 4 feet squared for inside the coop and 8 feet by 4 feet for the run, similar to this link (sorry new so not sure how to post pictures): http://www.chickencoops.co.nz/images/photos/a-frame-hen-house-hero.jpg