rare breed breeding question

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by seminolewind, Jun 26, 2011.

1. seminolewind

seminolewind Flock Mistress Premium Member

Sep 6, 2007
    spring hill, florida
    If you have a pair of rare breed chickens , how do they become a flock? Do they all inbreed? Or do people need fresh blood to continue breeding? Can you introduce new blood by breeding with a similar chicken, then breeding the characteristics out?

I just wonder how it's done when someone has a rare breed, and same breed unrelated chickens are not that available.

2. madamwlf

madamwlf Nevermore Acres

Aug 22, 2010
    Mount Airy, MD
    I'm no expert but I think you can take the daughters and breed them back to their father. This shouldn't do anything major to the genetic makeup of the off spring. I'll be in this situation in a few months and will keep an eye on this thread.

3. phasianidae

phasianidae Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 9, 2010
    If the entire population of the breed only consisted of one pair then the best you could do is to breed the cockerels back to the hen and the pullets back to the rooster. You could continue this for many generations. Back in the days of cockfighting, this was commonly practiced to obtain offspring very similar to an ideal specimen. Eventually, you could then separate them into several breeding groups and rotate the roosters from group to group every year. The most important trait to cull for would be as always-vigor. If you do not cull heavily for vigor in an inbred population, the results will no doubt be poor fertility, egg laying, and weak conformation.

If there is a similar breed you could breed them to and then make subsequent matings back to the original birds, this would introduce some much needed genetic diversity. However, with some breeds the goal is to keep them as pure as possible (Javas for example), and breeders would not want to out cross.

4. punky rooster

punky rooster Awesome

Jul 21, 2010