1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    Not a member yet? join BYC here & then introduce yourself in our community forum here.

Rate my Coturnix Coop?

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Maxwell Schmidt, Nov 22, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Maxwell Schmidt

Maxwell Schmidt In the Brooder

Nov 11, 2017
    Hey Everyone,
    Im fairly new to raising quail but its been a lot of fun so far. I'm just looking for some feedback on my set up thus far and maybe what looks good and any recommendations . Ive got a small covey of coturnix (2 male 8 female) that seem to be pretty happy in their coop which is 3'x6'x16" tall. one Third of the coop is covered and insulated on all sides with a 75w ceramic heater bulb that kicks on any time the temp dips below -5c (23f). the outside 2/3rds is chicken wire all around with 1/3rd covered just on top. They've got a dirt bath (sand, diatomaceous earth and oyster shell) as well as a 100w bulb that kicks on at dusk to give them 15h of light and a little extra warmth. There are 2 water dispensers and 2 feeders with duck starter (20%protein) + ground fish food, mealworms and seeds to boost protein. at some point I'd like to get into hatching and raising chicks but all in due time.

let me know what you think! thanks for any feedback.
    -Max IMG-0897.JPG FullSizeRender (1).jpg

2. EarthboundEiniosaurus

EarthboundEiniosaurus In the Brooder

Oct 6, 2017
    Chicago, IL
    Looks great to me! :thumbsup

TwoCrows likes this.
  3. Mylied

Mylied Crowing 6 Years

Mar 12, 2012
    Middle Georgia
    It looks very nice to me. :) If you have stray dogs or anything like that, be careful using chicken wire. They can tear through that no problem. Hardware cloth is more secure. Other than that 10!

007Sean and TwoCrows like this.
  4. NevilChick

NevilChick Chirping

Apr 7, 2017