Rats!!!!

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by khatar, Jun 15, 2011.

1. khatar

khatar Chillin' With My Peeps

May 14, 2011
    San Diego, CA
    We recently found a rat nest right next to our chicken coop, we knew there were rats but we didn't know where they lived until now.

We set and caught 4 rats in traps and scared one off but are rats threats to chickens at all?

2. CYGChickies

CYGChickies Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 13, 2011
    I'm no expert but I have read in several of my chicken books that rats can eat chicks and eggs and might gnaw on a sleeping or setting chicken. I'm not sure if just a few rats will get that bold but I know they're braver than mice. I hope they don't bother your birds.

CYG

3. Roo on Harley

Roo on Harley Chillin' With My Peeps

May 25, 2011
    Texas
    Have you ever filled up a feed jar and found a rat lol?
    Just kick him toward the dog.
    Keep your bags sealed or turned over,,,try not to make a mess when getting feed.

4. khatar

May 14, 2011
    San Diego, CA
    I have found poop near the chickens feed, and they have eaten some eggs near the bush, nothing serious.

5. iBoodle

iBoodle Chillin' With My Peeps

May 10, 2011
    Idaho
    Either a rat or a racoon came during the night and bit off some of my poor chickens' toes! So yes, they are a threat. Get rid of them as fast as possible!

Becca

6. bryan99705

bryan99705 Chillin' With My Peeps

Put your feed in metal trach cans to help reduce thir food and cause them to move on

Like I just suggested to another person: