Re-designing a 2x8 Coop

serdman

Chirping
5 Years
Feb 6, 2017
There is already a coop in our backyard, we have been using it as storage since we moved in, but have decided to start our first flock this spring. Yea! I need help redesigning it as I am new to BYC and it is a weird size that seems unique. I hope to fit six chickens in this coop with an attached 10x10 enclosed run. The doors on the coop will be redone as they are bowed. We live in NW Arkansas.

My coop is essentially 8x2 and has 4 pre-existing shelves on both sides that I am assuming they are original to the coop as they have holes drilled in them [for what purpose I do not know]. I has two full sized door in the middle with a center post. We built a new shed beside it that is 8x12, We will create the run between the shed and the coop. I have attached pictures an a drawing of dimensions below.

Questions:

1- How would you re-do the doors? Make one that you open fully during the day or make a small pulley door inside one of the big ones? Or make one door with a portion at the bottom that you open?
2- Where would you put the nesting boxes? Use one side for the nests and do two stacking -- maybe the side with the 13 inch shelves? Add external nesting boxes to the outside?
3- Roosts - do a ladder roost on one side? If so, how many roosts? One that runs most of the length [if so, can they enter it from the end since there is not enough space to jump down in front? Poop boards? This one really has me stumped.
4 - What purpose would the higher shelves have? Any ideas on how to use them or take them out?

Any other advise? I haven't really found any pictures a coop that is so narrow to help me. Thanks for any advice!!

Pre-shed - you can see the space for the run - it will go from the corner of each shed and back to the fences. Planning to put a roof on the space between the back fence and the shed and then hardware cloth the top over the portion by the shed.