Really super specific questions about candling

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by 21stCenturyMom, Aug 28, 2014.

1. 21stCenturyMom

21stCenturyMom Out Of The Brooder

Aug 24, 2014
    Hi everyone,

I've been reading up about candling because we have our very first batch of eggs (and also, these will be our first chickens ever as well) set and supposed to hatch on Sept. 14! [​IMG] I am a total newbie and so begging pardon if these questions have been asked before, but I have some really specific questions about candling that I couldn't find an answer to on the candling articles I have read...

1. Do you keep specific records on each individual egg in terms of weight and air cell size? If so, do you just put them in a spreadsheet or chart of some kind, or do you write the info on the egg? How do you designate viable or questionable eggs? (I was thinking just leaving "healthy" eggs without a mark, and writing a little question mark on the ones that seem odd.)

2. Is it bad to write a lot of stuff on your eggs? I was thinking about tracing the air cell shape on each shell just to help me visually keep track. Is pencil ok?

3. How do you set up your area for candling? I was planning to have a cushy towel laid out (in case we drop one... my kids are going to be "helping" me [​IMG]) and the flashlight ready to go of course. But... can I just take all the eggs out at once? Or do you candle one at a time? Seemed like it would be better to take them all out at once, and then keep the cover on the incubator so it can start warming up and recovering the heat lost from opening the cover, and get back to the right temp as quickly as possible...? I know that the eggs can cool for about 15-20 minutes and it won't harm them, but we have 24 in the incubator, so that leaves us less than a minute per egg! I'm nervous that we will be too slow. Also, should we cover the eggs while they are waiting to be candled so they don't get TOO cold?