Reason for deaths (Hatcher Experts Needed)

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Teresaann24, Jan 24, 2011.

1. Teresaann24

Teresaann24 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 29, 2008
    Eastern, Kentucky
    So I am on day 15 on 36 silkie eggs. I have done alot of hatches I have been raising silkies/hatching for 4 1/2 years. In all my hatches I have some start to zip and die. I never could figure out what it was I have had atleast 3 out of 15-20 eggs do this almost every hatch if I don't catch it in time and help them in time.

What I would like to know is why this happens? I know it goes by only the strong survive. BUT! It made it all through incubation and piping and then starts to zip and just dies? Perfectly formed chick yolk is absorbed. Any advice would be great!

ALSO I have had to help some chicks out I never know when is the best time and just go by my gut. I have helped ALOT of babies and they have been fine but then there is some that just didn't make it when I have helped.

SO my 2nd question is when is the best time to jump in? Is there a time I should wait after piping? hours? What I always do is I check the clock when I see a pip if I see no progress in 3-4 sometimes 5 hours I help a bit. I always go in within that time and peck on the windows to see if they are still moving and frisky. I always watch for bleeding when I help and stop right away. Any advice on this would be awesome too. Just taking in all the Knowledge I can before hatch day. THANKS IN ADVANCE!

2. debilorrah

debilorrah The Great Guru of Yap Premium Member

I firmly believe that the frail nature of silkies is their own demise when hatching. I have had very little luck with them. Some people say to wait 24 hours to help, but I say follow your instincts. I never intervene before 12 hours has passed myself, and I have about 70/30 success rate with helping them out.

Good luck!!

3. magicpigeon

magicpigeon Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 9, 2010