red 250 watt bulb

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by ikatiemay, Nov 12, 2010.

1. ikatiemay

ikatiemay Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 21, 2010
    Eden Utah
    IM NEW TO TO CHICKENS ALSO. DOES ANYONE KNOW IF A RED 250 WATT BULB WILL KEEP THE GIRLS AWAKE? I WANT TO TRY IT FOR HEAT IN THE COOP. THE COOP IS INSULATED, HAS A 4X8 IN VENT HIGH ON EACH END AND THREE 2X2 WINDOWS. I HAVE BEEN CLOSING UP THE CHICKEN DOOR AT NIGHT AND LEAVING THE WINDOWS CRACKED ABOUT 2 IN. i LOOK FOR MOISTURE IN THE AM ON THE WINDOWS AND HAVE PUT A THERMOMETER WITH A HUMIDITY GAUGE INSIDE. I JUST DONT KNOW IF IM DOING ALL THE RIGHT STUFF!! THESE GIRLS SEEM HAPPY:D

2. Barred Babies

Barred Babies Red Roof Farms

Sep 20, 2009
    Pride, La.
    No it won't. [​IMG]

3. silkiechicken

silkiechicken Staff PhD Premium Member

Where do you live? Most places do not require you to give the chickens heat. My birds only start to go inside to sleep when it is in the teens. Many people in the mid west do not heat their coops, and they have winters with negative temps and their girls do fine.

4. ikatiemay

Sep 21, 2010
    Eden Utah
    I Live In Northern Utah At About 7000 Ft. We Get Cold With 4 To 5 Feet Of Snow On The Ground. I Would Rather Not Heat But I Haven't Figured How Cold They Really Can Handle. It Isnt Unusual To Be In The Teens To Below Zero. I Would Love All The Help On This I Can Get. I Would Hate To Make The Mistake That Would Cause Damage To The Flock!!

5. Yay Chicks!

Yay Chicks! Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2010
    Forest Grove, OR
    Part of your decision might depend on the kind of chickens you have. Some are more winter hardy than others. Also, how many birds to you have in how big of a space. You may have enough ventilation up high and can close the windows. With insulation, you might not have to heat at all. Chickens put out a lot of body heat.

6. ikatiemay

Sep 21, 2010
    Eden Utah