1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Red Comb, Pale Comb And Back Again.....???

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by TwoCrows, Aug 19, 2011.

1. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    I am new to chickens this year. I have 4 Australorp girls that are approaching 6 months old and all have large red combs and wattles. (Faces not so much yet). I expect eggs soon. But I have one girl that has a large comb that changes from fairly red to quite pale during the day. When she is up and active, the comb and wattles are quite red, however when she is at rest, they are a very pale pink. None of the other girls combs change color, but stay a constant bright red.

Is this normal comb color behavior, or could it mean something else..worms?, ect? Am I just being worried for nothing?

Thanks...Leyla [​IMG]

2. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Quote:As long as she's eating and drinking normally, I wouldnt worry about it.

3. TwoCrows

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    She eats, drinks and poops normal. I watch all of them all the time and actually she eats like a horse. Poops like one too. [​IMG] I always do a poop inspection first thing in the morning in the coop before they get off the roost so I can see who's poo is who's and I am not seeing anything strange going on there.

Thanks Dawg. :)

4. phasian

phasian Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 27, 2009
    Oregon