1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Red mass on newly hatched chick

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Bizichick, Mar 27, 2012.

1. Bizichick

Bizichick Out Of The Brooder

Mar 22, 2012
    Washington State
    I have a chick that hatched about 5 hours ago. It has a bright red mass protruding from its bottom. It looks like a piece of the cord may be shriveled and hanging off of the mass. I have been reading online, everything from its the intestines hanging out to unabsorbed yolk. Just not sure what to do. A little history of this little one......incase that helps figure this out.....this is my first time hatching chicks and I made the mistake of putting several eggs in on different dates. Therefore I am having to lift the incubator lots to care for chicks as the hatch. Which of course affects the humidity. I had a couple that seemed to be too dry and the chicks couldnt hatch so I got a little paranoid and think I may have created too much humidity. I dont have a monitor to tell. So far out of 10 eggs, 6 have hatched successfully. The crazy thing is that every egg has hatched 2-3 days past the 21 day mark. I have 5 more to go that arent due for a couple of days so I am hesitant to leave the chick in the incubator too long but Im not sure if putting her in with the other chicks is a good idea until I figure out the mystery mass. Just not sure what to do with this last one. Any suggestions? Just want to make sure I do whatever is right for chick #6. :)

2. aveca

aveca Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 30, 2009
    Waverly, NY
    can you show a picture? there is also a navel infection that new hatched can get..i cant remember the name of it but you can probably search navel infection in here and compare picture with what you have going on.

3. Bizichick