Red Star Laying question

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by aemrivera, Oct 9, 2012.

1. aemrivera

aemrivera New Egg

Oct 9, 2012
    I'm new to the "mini egg farm" thing and was blessed with 3 beautiful Red Stars about a 6 weeks ago. They are about one year old, and had been laying beautifully. The girls are essentially free-ranged in our fenced back yard and sleep securely in a makeshift coop made out of a large dog crate. Feed is Dumor laying, with grit and calcium mixed in, plus "treats" of rice and whatever peelings are available.
    Here's the question - everything I've read about RS's is that they lay pretty consistently year-round, but lately I've not been getting many eggs. Went from 3 eggs/day, about a week ago, started getting only 2, with one day only having 1 egg. Two days ago, my smallest RS was egg-bound, and I was able to help her pass the egg. (She had been acting funny and wouldn't eat, now she's fine and back to herself)
    Am I doing something wrong, to have a lower egg production, or is it truly not unusual to have less eggs in cooler weather? Do I need to change diet? Behavior is perfectly normal for them right now.

Thanks for any help!

Last edited: Oct 9, 2012
  2. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    It's usual for them to lay fewer eggs in winter. Some breeds quit in winter, some lay fewer.

I prefer to offer the grit and oyster shell (I'm guessing this is the calcium you're using) separately. My chickens take very little grit, so I'm guessing they get most of their grit from the ground. Some seem to eat more oyster shell than others.

I just cut off the bottoms of a couple of 2 liter soda bottles and screwed them down to a 2x4 scrap for cups to hold grit and oyster shell. But then, I'm cheap.

Many people add a small light on a timer to keep their day length at 14 hours. This should cause them to lay a lot better in winter. Depends on where you are, of course.