Reds pecking backs of black speckleds.

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by chazcarly, Jan 5, 2009.

1. chazcarly

chazcarly New Egg

Jan 4, 2009
    I am new to raising chickens. i have 3 reds and 6 black speckleds that are all in together. the reds seem to being to attack the backs of the blacks. i don't know what is causing them to do this and i don't have any were to seporate them. please help. also i have a black sepckled rooster that i have seporated and if i put him in with the flock they the reds fight with him too.

2. chutewoman

chutewoman Out Of The Brooder

Dec 28, 2008
    Mid- Missouri
    How big is your pen? If they are overcrowed they will peck each other or if they are not getting enough protein or if they are bored they will do it. (search site for more info) If the birds are bleeding you do need to get them away from the others, they will wound each other very badly, even in a couple of hours. If you can't bring them in then you do need to set up a divider, use a board or wire or something. You also need to put some pine tar on the bare spots ASAP before they learn that feathers taste good. Pine tar is in the horse section of your local feed supply store. It taste bad and will stop the others from pecking, it will also help heal the wounds. You do need to put enough that if they peck they will get some on their beaks. If you do this before they kill each other and before it becomes a habit, then you could try to introduce them back together at a later time. Even a small pen can be divided.

3. chazcarly

chazcarly New Egg

Jan 4, 2009