Removing the hatched chicks

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by natvinyl, Aug 11, 2014.

1. natvinyl

natvinyl Out Of The Brooder

Aug 10, 2014
    Hi All. I have 20 eggs in my incubator (this is my first attempt) 3 hatched yesterday on day 19. The others are not even pipping yet. How long can the chicks stay in there? I read around 24 hours but opening it today to remove the chicks will surely have a negative effect on the yet unhatched eggs. Do I just leave them? How long before they need food and water? Thanks in advance. Nathan

Last edited: Aug 11, 2014
  2. Flutterbee

Flutterbee Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 11, 2014
    Virginia
    Hey Nathan, I've never done an incubator before, my hens usually hatch for me, but the chicks survive on the yolk from inside the egg and are good for about forty eight to seventy two hours without food (but they could eat a few hours after birth once they are dried off). I honestly think it depends on the incubator. If it's one of those huge ones where you can put in food and water, I think that is your best bet so long as it is away from the other eggs (you don't want the water spilling) otherwise I think it'd be alright to move them as long as no one else seems to be hatching.

3. dheltzel

dheltzel Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Nov 30, 2013
    Pottstown, PA
    Take them out now. The danger of opening the incubator is if an egg has pipped, you get a blast of dryer air and that can dry out the membranes and they get stuck. If no eggs are pipped, then it it fine to open the incubator and remove the ones that have hatched. You could add a paper or cloth towel in a small container with very warm water to boost the humidity back up quickly, but as long as the humidity is high enough already, it will recover quickly.