1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Replacing Rooster?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by kada6305, Aug 10, 2014.

1. kada6305

kada6305 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 13, 2013
    Kersey, Pennsylvania
    We have a flock of 8 chickens, 7 hens (one SS, 3 RSL and 3 Leghorns) and 1 SS rooster. Our rooster has become aggressive so time for the stew! But we are keeping him until we hatch out another SS rooster from him and our SS Hen. My question is how to replace him with the new rooster? Just take him out and put the new rooster in with the hens? At what age should I do this? I'm new to the chicken world. We are only on 2 day of incubation so it'll be awhile before he have a rooster to replace him with.

[​IMG]

2. centrarchid

centrarchid Chicken Obsessed

Sep 19, 2009
    Holts Summit, Missouri
    Do not count roosters until they hatched, crow, and have been evaluated as adults. Consider penning current trouble maker like done with game roosters. Rear replacements and pick best. As a general rule when keeping a self sustaining flock I keep an additional rooster or two as backup in pens separate from main flock.

Also look into how future rooster can be managed so it does not become aggressive.

3. kada6305

Mar 13, 2013
    Kersey, Pennsylvania
    You think penning our current rooster for a few days will help calm him down? some of our hens have missing wing feathers from him being mean to them. Maybe our hen to rooster ratio is too low for him?

4. centrarchid

Sep 19, 2009
    Holts Summit, Missouri