reposting, desperate for advise and help!

Discussion in 'Quail' started by rehctelf, Mar 8, 2015.

1. rehctelf

rehctelf Out Of The Brooder

Mar 6, 2015
    Ohio
    Hello to all BYC friends. Thank you for reading and your imput is greatly appreciated!
    Im in need of advise, instruction etc. I incubated Quail eggs, followed instructions. They were in an incubator with auto turner, digital thermomenter the works. They they were not turned prior to hatch date. (36-48 hr). I have had 5 hatch. The most sad little things I have ever seen and I like on a farm and I am a Nurse.
    1. One baby has a foot and toes that are curled in. He cannot stand nor keep himself upright.
    2. A second has itd belly open as if it had a pea growing on its belly and he really really struggles to keep upright.
    3. A third simply churps non stop. He had a friend with him the same age.
    They are all under heat, I have tried to feed and water them all. How much they are actually receiving is unknnown. None of them drink or eat at will.

Hello again. I thought perhaps I could give a quick update.
    I have had another Quail hatch. It is scooting around and I cant tell if this one is healthy or not yet. Keeping fingers crossed. Thanks for reading

Sad morning.
    Four babies died in the night and the three remaining are terrible. They are not standing in their own and they are not eating or drinking. Once they get onto their backs they are unable to flip back over.
    Is there anyone what can give me advise, Im begging at this point

2. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi there ! Sorry to hear you have problems with your hatch :hugs

Here is an excellent article on hatching quail
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/hatching-quail-eggs-and-brooding-quail-chicks Give as much detail as you can. ie what temps have you had? What has your humidty been like? Have you monitored air sac growth?