Repurposing dog house- chick coop. Any tips?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by mefbrennan, Feb 20, 2013.

1. mefbrennan

mefbrennan New Egg

Jul 25, 2012
    Santa Rosa
    Hello! I am just getting started on constructing my own chicken coop and run looking for suggestions! My little brother is in school for architecture and my boyfriend is quite a handyman so the possibilities are endless. However, one of our dogs recently died so we have an extra doghouse in the backyard...it's a standard doghouse, nothing special pretty big though (two pit-bulls sleep in there) I am thinking of ripping off the roof and one side to allow for a hinged roof and an attached nesting box area. Has anyone ever done this? Any suggestions AT ALL? Thanks!
    Margaret

2. miquwid

miquwid Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 14, 2013
    Western NY
    My Coop
    if the roof is shingled like mine I would keep it and work from the sides or the bottom. I wanted to do the same but m son wanted to keep it my dogs sleep in my bed so the dog house gets no use but it does look nice which makes our backyard look nice. I would open up from the sides to use a nesting box. Post a pick more ideas would come your way.

3. OCpeep

OCpeep Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 8, 2012
    Orange County, CA
    We converted a dog house that we got for free on craigslist. It already had a removable roof, but it is too heavy. The hole in the front was bigger than I wanted for the pop door so I picked up a remnant piece of fiber board from Home Depot to re-do the front into one large human door with a pop door built into it.

Here's a pic of the coop before the front door is installed. I added the ventilation above the door, and the coop sits on a stand that we built.

[​IMG]

This is the new front door with the pop door built in.

[​IMG]

This pic shows the coop with the door installed. The whole thing sits inside the run.
    [​IMG]