1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Rescued Chicks

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by MaMaFirst, Oct 24, 2013.

1. MaMaFirst

MaMaFirst New Egg

Oct 24, 2013
    Lodi, Ohio USA
    Hello! I currently have a goat herd with my mom. We raise and breed Nubians. I am fairly new to the venture but my mom has been doing this for 20+ years. I just got my first doe in the spring and bred her as a yearling about 6 weeks ago. She was born on New Years Day. My husband and I had talked about getting chicken but were waiting to learn more and get set up for them. So much for intended plans.....someone brought us 3 chicks that are still feathering. Not sure how old they are but they were in bad shape. There were originally 5 that appeared out of no where. The weather started to get old and 2 were found dead. I had no clue what to do with them but I knew they couldn't be left out like they were. My hubby and I took them in and I called a good friend of mine who raises chickens. I followed her advice and all 3 chicks perked up by the end of the day. This is day 2 and they are doing very good. Their feathers had been tattered but they have been cleaning them and milling around their box. They are starting to take on a shiny sheen. They always chirp to greet me when I walk into the room and are calm and cool when I do anything in their space but they went crazy my hubby tried to take care of them. Lol! I guess they are my birds. I'm quickly falling in love. They have gently lulled me to sleep with their soft chatter the last couple nights. I look forward to learning more about them and building them space to transition outside. My 17 month old son doesn't know what to think of them but he loves to watch.

2. jmandawn

jmandawn Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 12, 2013