Rescued Goose... now what...needs some tlc... UPDATED new pics

Discussion in 'Geese' started by Azd1292, Jul 5, 2011.

1. Azd1292

Azd1292 Out Of The Brooder

May 18, 2011
    I work at a office near the river so we always have Canadian geese and native ducks around the plaza. Today there was a poor Chinese? ( i think )Goose trying to follow the Canadians around. It obviously isn't a wild bird and since we always watch the geese at work it must of just been dropped off over the weekend. CRUEL CRUEL CRUEL....... The poor fellow came right up to me in our office parking lot begging for food so I picked it up and home we went! It eats right out of my hand is extremely friendly.. It even tolerated me carrying and petting it which my spoiled ducks hate lol..... So for now I have it in one of my secure duck pens. I am just getting into waterfowl and so far I have had a few pampered ducks for a couple months now.. I need quick schooling in GEESE!
    It seems underweight and its poor feathers are a wreck.... For tonight it is eating the duck grower/finisher I have plus some grass/weeds .. Should I get something better tomorrow..My ducks are ready for adult food so is there something they could all eat ? Should I add in some vitamins would that help its feathers? and How do you tell if its male or female?

I don't know what people are thinking when they drop an animal off to fend for itself but it breaks my heart.. Glad my new friend is safe and now well fed!

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 14, 2011
  2. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.