Rescued rooster in the city

saracb

Hatching
9 Years
Jun 28, 2010
My family just took in a rescued rooster - the people who found it thought it was a hen, but according to many folks here it is a red sexlink rooster. We plan to keep him and are starting to build a coop. We originally wanted hens for the eggs but can't turn this guy away. I don't want for someone else to take him and use him for meat at this point.
Anyway, we are hesitant to get a hen because we don't want to get chicks. We also don't want another rooster as they might fight and the crowing might become a problem. I suppose another hen could cause some crowing? He's pretty quiet so far.
I guess my question is will this guy be ok as our only chicken? Should we consider adding a hen or two?
We are also aware that if he starts crowing we will have to find another home for him. Any advice on how to find one that does not involve him being killed, or at least not immediately?
I should say that I'm new at this - I didn't even know what a sexlink rooster was until the other day, so forgive me if these questions are stupid. Hopefully I'm not being too naive in wanting to keep this rooster alive.
Thanks -

Chickens do not do well all by themselves. If you don't want to get chicks, look on Craigslist and see if you can find some hens that are of laying age. He'd much happier that way. Good luck.

Chickens are social animals. Even roosters need a companion, and he'd be much happier with a hen or two. You don't have to worry about chicks at all if you gather their eggs - chicks don't start to develop without incubation, and MOST laying hens have had the "broodiness" bred out of them. They lay their eggs and get off the nest. So, just gather the eggs and enjoy how much better they are than store-bought eggs!