Respiratory diseases in poultry

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by curioushen, Feb 26, 2008.

1. curioushen

curioushen New Egg

Feb 26, 2008
    Hi everyone
    I am new to raising poultry and hope people with more experience will be able to give me some advice. I raise chickens , turkeys , peafowl and ducks. Two years ago my first batches of birds came from various hatcheries, never had any problems with them till last year when I bought some chicks at a local auction, I also got turkeys from a hatchery at the same time. And also at the same time I discovered eggbid and bought a bunch of eggs that I hatched. That was when my problem started.
    My turkeys weren't doing very well. They seemed sleepy. Their sinuses got very swollen, and their eyes were infected. I was giving them terrymicin, sulmet and using eye ointments. I was also keeping their coop as clean as possible. It wasn't helping much, a lot of my turkeys died , and on top of that my chickens that were housed in the same coop got the fomy eyes, runny noses and swollen sinuses. Some of the chickens got very stinky. After a lot of research, I figured out I was dealing with coryza and mycoplasma infections. I culled the sickest birds, the rest I treated with Aureomycin and Sulmet combination. It finally helped.
    My turkeys are fine now and I would like to hatch some eggs from them. I read that the mycoplasma disease spreads to the entire flock and is transmited through the egg to the next generation. I also read that the only way to get rid of the disease in a flock is to cull all the birds, and start with new birds and practice very strict biosecurity.

I was wondering how other backyard breeders manage to stay away from coryza and mycoplazma? How do people that show their birds protect them from catching it at shows?
    Is it OK to hatch and sell chicks from infected flock?