1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login, otherwise join BYC here!

Respiratory, environment, or parasite?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by LottieHaveMercy, Dec 3, 2016.

1. LottieHaveMercy

LottieHaveMercy Just Hatched

May 24, 2016
    Remington, Va
    Hello! I am new to chickens this year and could use some input/advice. Earlier today when I let my 5 chickens out I noticed my 7 month old standard cochin pullet, Sooty, sounded strange. When I picked her up it sounded like she was congested, sort of gurgly. She has no discharge, comb is bright, and she is acting normally, except for the congestion and occasional wet cough. She didn't have symptoms yesterday, and all the other girls seem normal. I have not introduced any new birds since August and no one else in my vicinity has chickens.

I took Sooty to the vet who told me it could really be anything at this point and to watch her for a couple days in isolation, monitor her eating and drinking, and bring her inside if temp dip below 40, since she is alone. Vet told me if Sooty didn't improve that I could try de-worming with Safeguard Aquasol and possibly submit a stool sample to the local extension office.

We did have a lot of rain this week after a long drought, and I recently added straw to the coop but have decided to remove it since it seemed to absorb too much moisture. Could her symptoms be environmental?

I know I just wrote a lot of info so if you are still with me at this point I thank you!

Lottie

2. Wyorp Rock

Wyorp Rock Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Sep 20, 2015
    Southern N.C. Mountains
    Has she improved since you have isolated her?

Generally a wet gurgling and cough is associated with respiratory illness. There are several, so it would be hard to determine which one.