Respiratory infection in bantam cochin help!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by tacothechicken, Jul 8, 2017.

1. tacothechicken

tacothechicken Songster

Apr 2, 2015
    Anacortes WA
    My Coop
    Hi guys so today I was out back and it appears one of our 6 month old cochin bantams has a respiratory infection, possibly from two younger hens we added about 1 and 1/2 weeks ago we dont have any near by vets closer than 2 hrs which could treat her. So, does anyone have any advice on what antibiotics or medications specifically we can give her for best result? She's not even five lbs and it appears to have only shown up today she has a runny nose half her face is swollen and her noises are gurglely :( she's eating and drinking though. Also if the other two could have been carriers but don't show signs should we separate them too?
    Sorry I've never had a respiratory infection in our flock so I'm not experienced in how to specifically treat it other than isolation and antibiotics, but given her size I'm not sure how: much, often, or what works best! Thanks.

2. TwinsLoveChicks

TwinsLoveChicks Songster

Mar 10, 2016
    At the coop
    My Coop
    Hi @tacothechicken ! My flock has had similar problems. VetRX works pretty well. You should hopefully be able to find it at a Tractor Supply or feed store near you. There's something else that I also use that works really well, but I can't think of it at the moment. I'll post again as soon as I do, though. I hope this helps and that your sweet girl gets better soon!

3. Tiffany Davis

Tiffany Davis In the Brooder

Jun 5, 2017